‘Till Next Time

*Sniffle sniffle* This is my LAST required Reporting Australia blog – In which I’ll reflect on my study abroad experience while attempting to mask my overly-sentimental side.

I’m not sure a blog post of any length could adequately express how much I learned during this trip.

Before I get all soft, I’d like to acknowledge all the scientific content I attained during Reporting Australia. I genuinely enjoyed getting my fix of environmental science pertaining to sustainability, ecology, climate change, etc., a rarity for many journalists. Due to my enjoyment, understanding the science came fairly easily.

Another note on the scientific content – I felt as if it was extremely concrete & relevant.

Having lived the life of a biology major my freshman year, I found the environmental science material I learned during Reporting Australia more important/pressing than material I learned in any other biology/chemistry class:

I learned higher ocean temperatures cause coral bleaching, and in turn, death – not only to coral, but countless other marine life that seek refuge in coral.

Reef Walk Pollock Cropped

Joe Pollock talking coral while guiding us on a reef walk off Lady Elliot Island on Australia’s Great Barrier Reef

I learned (reluctantly) although more conscious than traditional tourism, ecotourism (aka Reporting Australia) is a paradox and isn’t sustainable.

rnash

Dr. Rob Nash challenged the idea of our program being environmentally-friendly during a lecture at his workplace, Bond University.

I learned it’s possible to have a wellbeing that outshines your income.

Crouching Simon cropped

…Thanks to Simon Ling, Reporting Australia’s nature guide at Carnarvon Gorge in the Australian Outback

I learned I can download, learn and crank out an info graphic from Adobe Illustrator in 17 hours with only two cups of coffee and no sleep.

GAB Graphic

One of my main contributions to Reporting Australia’s website, explaining water’s movement in the Great Artesian Basin

I learned I should comprehensively consider my dreams before I deem them unrealistic.

10425877_10152233288452753_1345459462785918329_n

This is probably where I first began developing the idea of becoming a dive master/instructor and opening my own dive shop (I’m to the right) – Photo cred: Rachel Robillard


Not only am I thankful for all the above knowledge Reporting Australia has given me, but also my new friends.

Reporting Australia at Brizzy's Museum Scienceentre

Reporting Australia at Brizzy’s Museum Scienceentre

I had a great time exploring Queensland with all of them, especially those in the Carnarvon group who contributed to our webpage.

All I’m left to say is Thank you to this program, thank you Dr. Kris & and thank you Australia. You’ve all taught me things I can use to better shape the future of our environment & lives. I’m pretty sure you’ve taught me how to be a better human. It may be too soon to tell, but I feel like a happier person because of this experience.

‘Till next time!

Kyle

Best NZ pic edit

Leave a Reply

